Windows 10 was mistakenly updated to version 1709

Windows 10 was mistakenly updated to version 1709

1 Star2 Star3 Star4 Star5 Star (No ratings yet)
Loading...

Microsoft officially recognized that some Windows 10 systems were mistakenly updated to the latest version of Windows 10 1709, despite the fact that users have suspended receiving updates in the operating system settings
Microsoft acknowledged that some Windows 10 systems were mistakenly updated to version 1709

About this error Redmond mentioned in the relevant article on the site Support Windows. Forced update affected only users of Windows 10 Creators Update (1703), users of other versions were not affected by the error.

How to disable automatic update installation in Windows 10

Recall that it was in the Creators Update that Microsoft first introduced the parameters for pausing to receive updates that allow you to put updates on a pause if the system has compatibility problems with drivers or installed components.

Some users were accidentally updated before Fall Creators Update
According to user reports, Microsoft completely ignored these options and forcibly upgraded some systems to Windows 10 version 1709.

Some users were accidentally updated before Fall Creators Update

One of the users on the technical support portal AskWoody shared his situation:

The problem occurred last night. After 30 minutes after starting the computer, a pop-up window appeared with information about the availability of security updates, for installation of which you had to upgrade to the latest version of Windows 10.

I used a Dell XPS8900 desktop computer with the installed version of Windows 10 version 1703. After the update was installed, the system version changed to 1709. As a result, there were problems with sound and image and there were periodic error messages about the availability of certain hot keys.

Previously, I suspended the installation of monthly updates for a period of 35 days, and the installation of the update functions was postponed for 365 days. After restoring the system image and forcibly disabling the Windows Update service, the update was still started again and again.

Problems are caused by KB4023814

Microsoft acknowledged its mistake. The company explained that this problem is caused by the update KB4023814, which was released last week. It is this that causes the notification to be displayed to users of older versions of Windows.

The update was intended for users of Windows 10 versions 1507 and 1511, which were released as early as 2015, and the cycle of their support is completed.

In this way, Microsoft simply tried to notify users about the need to upgrade to the latest version of Windows 10 for security updates.

However, the notification was shown even to users of versions 1607 and 1703, which are still supported and receive security patches in a timely manner.

Apparently, the update KB4023814 was inadvertently available to users of versions 1703 with the configured blocking of updates, which caused a forced update to 1709.

Problems are caused by KB4023814

Microsoft acknowledged its mistake. The company explained that this problem is caused by the update KB4023814, which was released last week. It is this that causes the notification to be displayed to users of older versions of Windows.

The update was intended for users of Windows 10 versions 1507 and 1511, which were released as early as 2015, and the cycle of their support is completed.

In this way, Microsoft simply tried to notify users about the need to upgrade to the latest version of Windows 10 for security updates.

However, the notification was shown even to users of versions 1607 and 1703, which are still supported and receive security patches in a timely manner.

Apparently, the update KB4023814 was inadvertently available to users of versions 1703 with the configured blocking of updates, which caused a forced update to 1709.

In an official statement Microsoft said:

The company acknowledges that this notice was incorrectly delivered to some Windows 10 version 1703 devices that had been configured with a user-defined grace period. Microsoft eliminated this problem on March 8, 2018.

Users who mistakenly received this update, if they wish, can refuse it.

Users whose system was incorrectly updated to 1709 can return to an earlier version within 10 days of the upgrade. To do this, open the Settings> Upgrade and Security> Restore application and select the Back to previous version of Windows 10 option.

Over the past year, there have already been three such incidents, when Microsoft mistakenly updated users 1703 to 1709. Earlier problems were noted in November 2017 and in January 2018, when on Tuesday patches were installed on the systems updates of functions.